Indian army ranks

Here is an in sight in to the Indian army ranks. How they set up and how the rank structure is set. Having so many soldiers across many different empires. It is difficult to keep track of how many different Indian army ranks there are.

Indian army ranks


Sepoy is the first Indian army rank. Its called this because in persian it means infantry soldier. They now use it as the rank of a private soldier.

In the Ottoman empire the term sipahi was used to name a group of elite calalry soldiers. Sepoys have been used through out many different empires an armys. The reason they were used is that they were very versatile soldiers. That were capable of operating under any condition.

Lance Naik

Lance naik is the next Indian army rank. Very similar to a lance corporal they wear one cheveron on there rank slide. Lance naiks are in charge of a small group of soldiers. In cavalry units they are called lance daffadars.


Again similar to a corporal in the British army. Naik is the next Indian army rank. Wearing two cheverons on there rank slide.


Havildar is the same as a sergent in the Indian army ranks. They wear three cheveron on there rank slide. Moving up the rank rank structure. They hold more responsabilities in turn means they recieve more pay. They can hold many different appiontments with in the Indian army.

Junior Commissioned Officers (JCO)

JCOs is a term for a group of soldiers in the Indian army ranks. They are called jcos because they had there rank given to them from the president giving them commanding power.

During British rule jcos were called viceroys commisssioned officers. They were called that to keep a distinquish between the to sets of officers. Vcos being the highest Indian army rank that they could hold. Where as the British were all commissioned.

The Indian army ranks that JCOs can hold are.

  • The lowest rank that they can hold is naib subdar
  • Subdar is the next rank
  • Then the highest rank of a jco is subdar major


Commissioned Officers
Feild marshal is the highest Indian army rank. Which is an honourable rank. However it is not currently held by a figure with in the Indian army. All of the commissioned Indian army ranks have the same structures as most of the world armys.

Here is a list of the Indian armys commissioned ranks. And how they are shown on there rank slide. Starting with the lowest.

  • Leautinent – Two gold stars
  • Captain – Three gold stars
  • Major - Gold national emblum
  • Lt Colonel – National emblum over one gold star
  • Colonel - National emblum over two gold stars
  • Brigadier – Gold national emblum and a triangle of three gold stars
  • Major General – Gold star outlined in red over a red baton and scimiter
  • Lt General – Gold national emblum outlined in red over a crossed gold baton and scimiter
  • General – Gold national emblem over a gold starboth outlined in red,all over a crossed goldbaton and scimitar outlined in red.

With in the Indian army ranks there are currently 1,325,00 serving soldiers. There is also a further 1,155,00 serving reserve soldiers.


Indian army ranks